This morning
I have made you pancakes,
served them with certified organic butter
and brown eggs from range fed hens,
that you might know
how  much the whole world
loves you.

Oh, sure,
I mixed the batter,
spooned it on the griddle
that I tested with a splatter
to be sure the heat was right.
I made them in the shape of smiley faces
because doing that for you makes me glad.

But there was lots more
love and labor
engaged before this batter
could bring pancakes to our table.
There were smiles, and sweat,
and sometimes tears when farmers’ crops
would fail. There was celebration in years of plenty
that left the larder full.

Of course, if you go back
to where it all began, there was a seed,
some sun and rain, This breakfast
did not start with human hands.
The whipped cream and all that buttery flavoring,
the creative shaping, that was just me
having fun.

Long ago,
the smile you wear,
that sparkle in your eye,
the tummy that says yummy
at the scent of cinnamon, all this food
we share, it was all part of a greater plan
created by God’s hands.

 

